The SEC appointed three new members to its Investor Advisory Committee and reappointed five members whose terms recently expired. The new members are:

  • John Coates, professor of law and economics at Harvard Law School and research director of the Center on the Legal Profession;
  • Nancy LeaMond, EVP, chief advocacy and engagement officer, community, state and national affairs at AARP; and
  • Elisse Walter, former SEC chairman.

Reappointed to the committee are:

  • Stephen Holmes, general partner emeritus at InterWest Partners;
  • Barbara Roper, director of investor protection at Consumer Federation of America;
  • Kurt Schacht, managing director at CFA Institute;
  • Anne Sheehan, director of corporate governance at CalSTRS; and
  • Damon Silvers, director of policy and special counsel at AFL-CIO.

The committee was created under Dodd-Frank to advise the SEC on regulatory priorities, regulation of securities products, trading strategies, fee structures, disclosure effectiveness and initiatives to protect investors and promote investor confidence and the integrity of the U.S. securities markets.

Link To Article