Russia has shared with EU member states a list of 89 European politicians, officials, and public figures that have been banned from travelling to Russia an EU spokesperson has stated. The spokesperson also said that the EU had not been informed of the legal bases, criteria or process for the decision to ban these individuals. The list of those banned from entering Russia has not been published officially, although an apparently leaked version (in German) has been published online.

General Secretary of the EU Council Uwe Corsepius, former British Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg, former Belgian prime minister Guy Verhofstadt and former EU enlargement chief Štefan Füle are among those believed to be subject to the ban.

The list includes individuals from Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Finland, France, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Spain, Sweden and the UK.

In response to the travel ban, on 2 June the Head of the European Parliament, Martin Schulz, announced that until further notice Russian diplomats will be barred from the European Parliament and access for Russian legislators will be assessed on a case-by-case basis. The European Parliament has also suspended its engagement in the EU-Russia Parliamentary Cooperation Committee, which involves legislators from both the Russian and European Parliaments.