On 18 April, the European Commission (“Commission”) adopted Regulation 348/2013 adding eight substances to the REACH authorisation list. There are now a total of twenty-two substances of very high concern (“SVHCs”) on the REACH authorisation list. SVHCs listed on the “authorisation list” require prior authorisation from the European Chemicals Agency before they can be used, placed on the market or imported into the EU after a certain date. The new substances which have been added to the list are trichloroethylene, chromium trioxide, acids generated from chromium trioxide and their oligomers (chromic acid, dichromic acid, oligomers of chromic acid and dichromic acid), sodium dichromate, potassium dichromate, ammonium dichromate, potassium chromate and sodium chromate.

Regulation 348/2013 can be accessed via the following link: http://eurlex. europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2013:108:0001:0005:EN:PDF