Lithuania having joined the euro area on 1 January has brought the number of Member States using single European currency to 19. Lietuvos bankas, the national central bank of Lithuania has become a member of the Euro system, which now consists of the European Central Bank (ECB) and 19 national central banks. Lithuania also joined the Single Supervisory Mechanism. As a result 3 Lithuanian banks (namely SEB bankas, Swedbank and DNV bankas) now fall under the direct supervision of the ECB.