The House Judiciary Committee has approved legislation that would add Israel to the list of countries whose citizens are eligible for an E-2 nonimmigrant treaty investor visa. Senators Charles Schumer (D-NY), Mark Kirk (R-IL) and Jon Kyl (R-AZ) proposed a companion bill in May 2011, but that bill has not yet moved through the Senate Judiciary Committee.

The E-2 visa allows individuals who make a substantial investment in the United States to live in the United States on a temporary basis while they direct the operations of their investment enterprise. Currently, 79 countries have treaties with the United States that allow their citizens to apply for E-2 status.

Israeli nationals are currently eligible for E-1 treaty trader visas based on a separate reciprocal treaty between the United States and Israel. The E-1 visa is a nonimmigrant visa for a foreign national who is coming to the United States to conduct substantial trade between the United States and Israel.