From 31 March 2014, those applying from the following countries will join the growing list of those who are required to undergo testing for tuberculosis (TB) if they wish to come to the UK for more than six months:

  • Algeria;
  • Belarus;
  • Bhutan;
  • Burma;
  • Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea);
  • Iraq;
  • Sri Lanka; and
  • Ukraine

The Home Office specifies countries from which applicants must be screened and the centres where such screening must take place. The changes include adding new, approved screening clinics as well amending the details of others. Before submitting an application, Appendix T to the Immigration Rules should be checked to confirm which countries are on the list and which clinics are approved for these purposes.