The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) recently issued a consumer update warning that the lupin (or lupine) legume could cause allergic reactions in susceptible individuals, especially those with existing peanut allergies. According to FDA, the use of lupin-derived ingredients has increased in recent years because they are used in gluten-free products as a substitute for other flours.

“Although lupin is a food staple for many Europeans—who may be more aware of its allergenic properties and are accustomed to seeing it listed as a food ingredient—it is relatively new to the U.S. market,” notes FDA, which “is actively monitoring complaints of lupin allergies.” To this end, the agency has asked consumers and healthcare professionals to report lupin-related adverse events through the FDA reporting system. See FDA Consumer Update, August 15, 2014.