On 30 November 2016, the UN Security Council unanimously approved Resolution 2321 (2016), imposing new sanctions on the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (“DPRK”) in response to its nuclear test on 9 September 2016.

The new measures are aimed at cutting off funding for the DPRK’s nuclear and banned weapons programmes, in particular targeting the DPRK mining sector, as well as extending existing restrictions on strategic and luxury goods. The Resolution also expands the list of designated individuals and entities.

The main new restrictions include:

• requirements for states to impose asset freezes and travel bans on 11 individuals and 10 entities (linked to the DPRK’s nuclear and ballistic missile programmes, including by raising funds and procuring equipment); • extension of the UN embargo on strategic goods to cover a variety of items usable for nuclear, ballistic missile, chemical and biological weapons purposes, as well as a new UN conventional arms dual-use list, to be adopted within 15 days of this Resolution; • clarification of the UN embargo on luxury goods to include rugs and tapestries valued over USD 500, and porcelain and bone china tableware valued over USD 100; • extension of the restrictions on providing services in relation to DPRK-flagged vessels; • a cap on exports of DPRK-origin coal; • an extension of the restrictions on exports of iron and iron ore; • prohibitions on the purchase from the DPRK of copper, nickel, silver and zinc; • prohibitions on the export of statues from the DPRK; and • prohibitions on the supply of new helicopters and vessels to the DPRK.

UN Security Council Resolutions are binding on all UN Member States. Individual states may also implement their own measures in addition to those imposed by the UN Security Council.