The Senate cleared a large package of nominees late June for posts throughout the federal government 30. Among those confirmed were; Daniel M. Ashe, the new director of the United States Fish and Wildlife Service, Department of the Interior; Michael S. Devany, rear admiral at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration; Richard C. Howorth; Board of Directors of the Tennessee Valley Authority; and William Charles Ostendorff, Nuclear Regulatory Commission.