Yesterday, the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) and the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) jointly announce the remaining members of the Financial Crisis Advisory Group. As previously announced, the group will be co-chaired by Harvey Goldschmid, former US Securities and Exchange Commissioner, and Hans Hoogervosts, chairman of the Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets, and will include a diverse membership of leaders from the private and public financial sector. The newly appointed members include a former SEC Chief Accountant, former President of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, and former Comptroller of the Currency, among other distinguished members from around the world.

The group will advise the FASB and the IASB “about standard-setting implications of (1) the global financial crisis and (2) potential changes to the global regulatory environment.” The group will conduct its first meeting in January 2009, and anticipates concluding its activities within six months.