On September 18, 2008 the Council of the CPSO approved a policy that establishes four new pathways to registration effective December 1, 2008. The new pathways will be available for the following groups of physicians:

  1. Physicians with a Canadian medical degree and postgraduate training without RCPSC or College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) certification;
  2. International medical graduates (IMGs) with Canadian postgraduate training without RCPSC or CFPC certification and who are practising independently in Canada;
  3. Physicians with a Canadian or U.S. medical degree with U.S. postgraduate training and certification; and
  4. IMGs with U.S. postgraduate training and certification.

The following two additional pathways are being circulated for consultation:

  1. Non-family medicine specialist IMGs with postgraduate training and certification approved by the RCPSC; and
  2. Physicians with a medical degree from an unapproved jurisdiction with postgraduate training that has not been approved by the RCPSC and who are practising independently in Canada.

The CPSO’s new policy is in keeping with the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care’s focus on greater access to health professionals.

In June 2008, former Minister, George Smitherman, introduced a Bill to amend the Regulated Health Professions Act. If passed, section 1 of Bill 97, the Increasing Access to Qualified Health Professionals for Ontarians Act, 2008, would impose a new duty on the regulatory colleges “to work in consultation with the Minister to ensure, as a matter of public interest, that the people of Ontario have access to adequate numbers of qualified, skilled and competent regulated health professionals.” The Bill was carried at second reading and was considered by the Standing Committee on Social Policy on October 27, 2008.