Workers will now receive higher minimum wages mandated by state law in 19 states, effective this month. Florida’s minimum wage increased to $8.10 an hour from $8.05 an hour, effective January 1. Tipped employees in Florida are now entitled to receive a minimum of $5.08 an hour. Workers in Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, South Dakota, Vermont, and Washington also will see higher minimum wages. Two other states and Washington, D.C. are slated to implement minimum wage increases later this year.

In addition to the increases required by state laws, covered employees working on federal contracts are entitled to receive $10.20 per hour, effective January 1, 2017, and covered tipped employees working on such contracts must be paid at least $6.80 per hour.

The federal minimum wage set at $7.25 an hour in 2009, remains unchanged.