The laws governing the Visa Waiver Program (VWP) require that travelers to the United States must carry a machinereadable electronic passport (e-passport) if that passport was issued on/after October 26, 2006. The U.S. Department of State (DOS) recently announced that the rule does not provide an exception for temporary and emergency passports. Consequently, all emergency or temporary passports must be e-Passports to be eligible for travel to the United States, including transit through the United States, under the VWP. The DOS stated that for those who are unable to obtain e-passports must make an attempt to obtain a U.S. The U.S. Embassies and Consulates abroad will try to accommodate emergency visa appointments. The U.S. Customs and Border Protection (USCBP), has been authorized to grant discretionary waivers of the e-passport requirement to those VWP travelers who were unable to obtain an e-passport or visa prior to their travel. USCBP can also exercise its discretion with respect to any fines levied on air carriers for boarding travelers with non-e-passports.