On October 8, the United States Senate confirmed by unanimous consent Bart Chilton, Jill Sommers and Scott O’Malia as Commissioners of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission. Mr. Chilton and Ms. Sommers had been nominated to serve another term at the CFTC, while Mr. O’Malia had been nominated in September to fill a vacant position. Both Mr. Chilton and Ms. Sommers have served as Commissioners since August 2007. Mr. O’Malia was previously the Minority Clerk of the Senate Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development and served as Professional Staff on the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, where he focused on energy trading and markets.

Each of the newly confirmed Commissioners has expressed support for the Obama Administration’s plan to require centralized clearing of over-the-counter derivatives.

A link to the Senate record noting the confirmations can be found here.