As of January 1, 2013, ten states will raise the minimum wage for workers. In Arizona [pdf] ($7.80 per hour), Colorado ($7.78 per hour), Florida ($7.79 per hour), Missouri ($7.35 per hour), Montana ($7.80 per hour), Ohio [pdf] ($7.85 per hour), Oregon [pdf] ($8.95 per hour), Rhode Island ($7.75 per hour), Vermont [pdf] ($8.60 per hour), and Washington ($9.19 per hour), workers will see an increase. These states have laws that increase the minimum wage at a rate tied to inflation. All employers in these states need to display updated posters with the new state minimum wage as required by state law.
As reported in Christie Sent Measure Raising NJ’s Minimum Wage New Jersey recently passed a law raising the minimum wage to $8.50 per hour and to tie future minimum wage adjustments to a rate tied to inflation, however, Governor Christie is expected to veto the bill. Look for future action by the New Jersey legislature on this issue in 2013.
The Federal minimum wage remains unchanged at $7.25 per hour. However, if your workers are in a state that has a minimum wage above the Federal rate, you must pay workers the higher rate. A complete list of minimum wage rates for all states can be found at the U.S. Department of Labor.