A number of minor changes to the Immigration Rules came into force on 1 July 2013.

They include:

  • changes to the documents required for approved English language tests;
  • clarification that ‘regulated financial institutions’ means those regulated to provide personal savings accounts or student loans;
  • more legal courses are now exempt from the time limit on study for Tier 4 student visas; and
  • a resident labour market test is not needed for applications for a religious worker (Tier 5) extension.

Other changes include:

  • some minor updates and clarifications to the family Immigration Rules; and
  • changes to the list of financial institutions in Bangladesh and Ghana from which documents can be verified.

Tuberculosis screening is now required in more countries including:

  • China;
  • Ethiopia;
  • Gambia;
  • Hong Kong;
  • Indonesia;
  • Macau;
  • Malawi;
  • Morocco;
  • Sierra Leone;
  • Uganda;
  • Vietnam; and
  • Zambia.