Myanmar’s parliament has elected U Win Myint as its 10th President. On 28 March 2018, Win Myint was voted to replace U Htin Kyaw as leader of the country, who stepped down on 21 March due to health reasons.

Myanmar’s president is elected from among the country’s three vice presidents, representing the lower house, the upper house and the military. U Win Myint, the lower house candidate, won an overwhelming majority with 403 out of 636 votes, almost twice as many as the military backed candidate Myint Swe, who came second with 211 votes. The third candidate, Henry Van Thio, received 18 votes. This substantive victory means that the National League for Democracy (“NLD”) representative received numerous votes and support from other parties, as well as his own.

U Win Myint, who was formerly the speaker in the lower house of parliament, studied Geology at Yangon University, before practicing as a lawyer in the High Court of Myanmar in the 1980s. He was then part of an opposition revolt in 1988 against Gen Ne Win, alongside the State Counsellor Aung San Suu Kyi, which led to him being briefly jailed by the military junta. He became a member of the NLD executive committee in 2010.