Today the Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee approved three pending nominations for the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC). The Committee approved Elliot Kaye as Chairman and Joe Mohorovic and Bob Adler as Commissioners to the CPSC. Although the Committee approved his nomination, seven Republican Senators reportedly voted no on the reappointment of current Acting Chairman Adler. Those Senators included:

  • Kelly Ayotte (New Hampshire)
  • Roy Blunt (Missouri)
  • Dan Coats (Indiana)
  • Deb Fischer (Nebraska)
  • Dean Heller (Nevada)
  • Ron Johnson (Wisconsin)
  • Marco Rubio (Florida)

There is no word on a possible Senate confirmation vote yet but the prevailing sentiment remains that action will be taken prior to the August recess. In any case, it’s about time the nominees were at least reported out of Committee.