For travelers who enter the U.S. through Washington Dulles International Airport, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is now requiring a full set of 10 fingerprints, instead of just two, from each individual upon entry. This requirement will be expanded to nine additional airports next spring:

  • Boston Logan International Airport
  • Chicago O'Hare International Airport
  • Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport
  • George Bush Houston Intercontinental Airport
  • Hartsfield Jackson Atlanta International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (NYC)
  • Miami International Airport
  • Orlando International Airport
  • San Francisco International Airport

DHS plans to expand this 10-fingerprint system to 107 other airports and to begin collecting 10 fingerprints at other ports of entry by the end of 2008. DOS currently uses scanners for ten fingerprints at most of its visa-issuing posts and will complete use of this system worldwide this year.