The U.S. Senate has, by unanimous consent, confirmed Ann Marie Buerkle (R-N.Y.) and Marietta Robinson (D-Mich.) as new Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) commissioners. Buerkle and Robinson were approved for seven-year terms, replacing former Commissioners Thomas Moore and Anne Northup, respectively.

Buerkle, a former New York Congresswoman who served as New York assistant attorney general from 1997 to 2009 and previously worked in private practice, was nominated by President Barack Obama (D) for the post in May 2013 and reportedly received “fast track approval” without a Senate confirmation hearing or opposition from Senate Democrats. Her term was back-dated to October 27, 2011. Robinson, a trial attorney, was first nominated by Obama in January 2012 and re-nominated in January 2013 after the Senate failed to act during the previous Congress, stated a news source. Her term was back-dated to October 27, 2010.

Buerkle and Robinson will join current Commissioners Inez Moore Tenenbaum, Robert Adler and Nancy Nord after a yet-to-be-scheduled swearing-in. See Syracuse. com, June 28, 2013; Product Safety Letter, July 1, 2013.