On August 25, the Department of Energy announced investments of $41 million over three years in 16 projects (in California, Colorado, Georgia, Illinois, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, and Washington) seeking to remove at least 90 percent of a plant's carbon dioxide. DOE stated that the projects, to be jointly funded with participant companies, will raise the price of produced electricity by no more than 35 percent.