President Peña Nieto announces short-term plans for accelerating the reform’s implementation.

On August 11, Mexican President Enrique Peña Nieto announced that federal legislation was enacted to implement the constitutional reform of the energy sector that was passed by the Mexican congress on December 16, 2013.[1] In total, the president enacted nine new acts, including the much-awaited Hydrocarbons Act and the Electricity Industry Act, and amended 12 existing acts and codes.

During the ceremony, President Peña Nieto listed 10 actions that his government will carry out in the short term to accelerate the energy reform’s implementation. These actions include the announcement on August 13 of the fields that Pemex—the Mexican state-owned petroleum company—will keep for exploration and production activities (Round Zero) and the fields that will be included in the first round of exploration and production activities with private parties (Round One).