Denmark has become the fifth participating State to ratify the Unified Patent Court agreement.

Following a favourable vote in their recent referendum, Denmark deposited its instrument of ratification with the General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union on 20 June 2014, which was the final step required for ratification to have effect under Article 89(1) of the UPC Agreement.

Denmark will establish a local division of the UPC in Copenhagen, with Danish and English being the languages of the proceedings.  It is understood that Denmark did not wish to participate in the Nordic-Baltic regional division of the UPC (set up by Sweden, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania – see earlier report here) because that division will operate only in English.

At least 13 of the participating countries, including France, Germany and the United Kingdom, must ratify the agreement before it can come into force. So far Austria, France, Sweden, Belgium and now Denmark have ratified the treaty.

The European Commission’s table showing the progress of ratification can be found here.