On March 18, 2013, the Foreign Relations Department announced the elimination of visa requirements between Mexico and Brazil. Consequently, in the near future, Mexican and Brazilian citizens travelling to the other country may stay of up to 180 days, without the need of a visa, provided they hold ordinary passports. The purpose of the Agreement is to facilitate the transit of travelers between the two countries.

Formerly, Brazilian nationals had to obtain tourist or business visas through the Electronic Travel Authorization System (SAE, for its Spanish acronym), very much like Russian and Ukrainian nationals.

This is the result of the agreements reached by Mexico and Brazil presidents, Enrique Peña Nieto and Dilma Rousseff, respectively, during the Business Summit of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC, for its Spanish acronym), held in Chile in January, 2013.

It should be noted that this is not a new agreement, since it was entered into in November 2000, but its application was halted in October 2005; and now, the governments of both countries had decided to reinstate it.

Although Mexico and Brazil have officially announced the visa waiver through diplomatic channels, the decision is yet to be implemented as of a date to be set in a near future.