On September 24, 2017, President Trump issued a Proclamation enhancing the vetting capabilities and processes for detecting attempted entry into the United States by terrorists or other public safety threats. The Proclamation suspended and limited, subject to categorical exceptions and case-by-case waivers, entry into the United States of nationals of Chad, Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, and North Korea.

Through the Proclamation, the President also barred certain government officials from Venezuela and their immediate family members from using certain nonimmigrant visas to enter the United States. The Proclamation further stated that nationals of Venezuela who are visa holders should be subject to appropriate additional measures to ensure their traveler information remains current.

These new restrictions will come into effect on October 18, 2017.