On 24 June, Russian President Vladamir Putin announced the one year renewal of Russia’s ban on food imports from the West. The extended ban is now due to expire on 5 August 2016. The majority of food products imported from the US, the EU, Australia, Canada and Norway are subject to the prohibition, though it does not include wine and spirits, bread, pasta, or cereals.