Dr Fergus Macbeth, Director of the Centre for Clinical Practice at the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), has announced the development of nine further Quality Standards for 2010/11. These were referred to NICE from the Department of Health on advice from the National Quality Board, and relate to the management of:  

  • breast cancer;  
  • diabetes (types I and II);  
  • chronic kidney disease;  
  • end of life care;  
  • glaucoma;  
  • depression;  
  • chronic heart failure;  
  • alcohol dependence (treatment, not primary prevention or causation); and
  • chronic obstructive pulmonary disorder.

Focusing on outcomes of care, patient experience and cost effectiveness, and derived from the best available evidence, the standards will be used to assess existing practice and to improve future delivery.