Census numbers has scheduled its first meeting on March 23. The four Caucus leaders – four of the five members of the Commission – have invited those who have applied to chair the Commission to the first meeting. The Constitution requires legislative leaders to choose a chairman by April 4. The four caucus leaders are: Senate Majority Leader Dominic Pileggi, R-Delaware, House Majority Leader Mike Turzai, RAllegheny, Senate Democratic Leader Jay Costa, D-Allegheny, and House Democratic Leader Frank Dermody, D-Allegheny.

Previous Commission chairs include retired Supreme Court Justice Frank J. Montemuro, Jr., in 2001, attorney Robert J. Cindrich in 1991, James O. Freedman, Dean of the University of Pennsylvania Law School in 1981, and Professor A. Leo Levin of the University of Pennsylvania Law School in 1971.

The Commission redraws the legislative seats while the lines for the new congressional seats are introduced in bill form and approved by the General Assembly.