The Supreme Court issued today its long-awaited decision in Obergefell v. Hodge, holding that the due process and Equal Protection clauses of the 14th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution require states to recognize same-sex marriage.

The decision was 5-4. Justice Anthony Kennedy wrote the majority opinion, joined by Justices Stephen Breyer, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Elena Kagan, and Sonia Sotomayor. Chief Justice John Roberts, and Justices Samuel Alito, Antonin Scalia, and Clarence Thomas dissented. They each wrote separate dissents and, to varying degrees, joined in the dissents of others.