The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) granted waivers from the restricted annual limit requirements under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) to four states: Florida, New Jersey, Ohio and Tennessee.

PPACA restricts the annual limits that a health plan can impose. For plan years beginning on or after September 23, 2010, but before September 23, 2011, the restricted annual limit may not be less than $750,000. In recognition of the burden these restricted annual limits would place on "limited benefit" or "mini-med" plans, HHS established a waiver program. In general, to receive a waiver, a state, employer, or insurer must show that compliance with PPACA would cause "a significant increase in premiums or a decrease in access to benefits." The waiver program is discussed in greater detail in the October 2010 Employee Benefits Update.