Australia has named the 50 individuals and 11 companies on which it has imposed sanctions for being responsible for, or complicit in, the Russian threat to the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine. Although the Minister of Foreign Affairs had already announced that sanctions would be imposed, the relevant persons were previously unidentified. The individuals and entities have been designated under the Autonomous Sanctions Regulations 2011, as amended, which imposes an asset freeze and a travel ban on all designated persons.

The 11 companies on which sanctions have been imposed, which have all been previously designated by the US, are: Bank Rossiya, Invest Capital Bank, SMP Bank, Stroygazmontazh, Aquanika, Avia Group LLC, Avia Group Nord LLC, Stroytransgaz Group, The Volga Group, Transoil and Chernomorneftegaz. Canada has also previously designated all of these entities with the exception of Chernomorneftegaz. Chernomorneftegaz has also been listed by the EU.

Autonomous Sanctions Regulations 2011

Autonomous Sanctions (Designated Persons and Entities and Declared Persons – Ukraine) List 2014