From 1 August, passport holders of 45 foreign countries including Australia, USA, U.K, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Netherlands, and Switzerland may transit through Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, for up to 72 hours without a visa when flying into and out of Guangzhou Baiyun Airport. Passengers must hold a booked, confirmed and ticketed flight reservation to an ongoing third country within the 72 hour visa free period, and must be eligible for entry into the third country or region (valid visa documents) and carry the required documents to do so. Guangzhou has therefore joined Beijing and Shanghai in relation to this visa free entry scheme, that is clearly aimed at trying to get foreign travelers out of China’s transit airports, and their money into the hands of local merchants.