The City of Chicago and Cook County have each passed “Paid Sick Leave” ordinances that go into effect July 1, 2017. See

Employers with employees in Chicago (but not other parts of Cook County) need only comply with the City of Chicago ordinance. Employers with employees in Cook County municipalities other than Chicago need only comply with the Cook County ordinance, although certain Cook County municipalities have opted out of the Cook County ordinance (see list below of municipalities that have NOT opted out). Employers with locations and employees in both Chicago and other Cook County municipalities would need to comply with both ordinances as applicable to specific employees.

We have been monitoring the ordinances for some time, but there has been a delay in the finalization of the interpretative rules by Cook County and the City of Chicago. Cook County recently finalized its regulations (which are 46 pages long and more complex than anticipated), but the City of Chicago has not. We expect the City of Chicago to issue final rules within the next week.

Cook County Municipalities That Have NOT Opted Out Barrington Hills (partly in Kane, Lake, and McHenry Counties) Bensenville (partly in DuPage County) Berwyn Blue Island Broadview Brookfield Burnham Calumet City Calumet Park Chicago Heights Chicago Ridge Cicero Country Club Hills Countryside Deer Park (partly in Lake County) Deerfield (partly in Lake County) Des Plaines Dixmoor Dolton East Dundee (partly in Kane County) Elmhurst (partly in DuPage County) Evanston Flossmoor Ford Heights Forest Park Forest View Frankfort (partly in Will County) Franklin Park Glencoe Glenwood Golf Harvey Hazel Crest Hinsdale (partly in DuPage County) Hometown Indian Head Park Inverness Kenilworth La Grange Lansing Lemont (partly in DuPage County and Will County) Lyons Markham Matteson (partly in Will County) McCook Merrionette Park Midlothian North Riverside Northfield Oak Brook (partly in DuPage County) Oak Park Olympia Fields Palos Hills Park Forest (partly in Will County) Park Ridge Phoenix Posen Prospect Heights Richton Park Riverdale Robbins Roselle (partly in DuPage County) Sauk Village (partly in Will County) Schiller Park Skokie South Chicago Heights South Holland Steger (partly in Will County) Stickney Stone Park Thornton University Park (partly in Will County) Westchester Willow Springs (partly in DuPage County) Wilmette Winnetka