What is the change? Russia will begin issuing e-visas to nationals of 18 countries arriving in Russia through the city of Vladivostok.

What does the change mean? Nationals of 18 countries – including India, China, Saudi Arabia, Turkey and Japan – will be eligible for the e-visa program. Tourist and business travel will be permitted on the visas, which will have a 30-day validity period and allow for stays of up to eight days.

  • Implementation time frame: Aug. 1.
  • Visas/permits affected: E-visas.
  • Who is affected: Eligible foreign nationals planning short trips to Russia via arrival in Vladivostok.
  • Impact on processing times: The change will save eligible travelers time because the e-visa process is significantly faster than that of obtaining a visa at a consulate or embassy. E-visas will generally be issued within four days from the time an application is submitted.

Background: Nationals of the following 18 countries will be eligible for e-visas:

Algeria China Japan Mexico Qatar Tunisia
Bahrain India Kuwait North Korea Saudi Arabia Turkey
Brunei Iran Morocco Oman Singapore UAE

E-visa applicants must submit an application online no more than 20 days and no fewer than four days before arriving in Vladivostok. E-visas may be used for business, tourism or humanitarian purposes, are good for a single visit and are not renewable. E-visa holders must arrive in Vladivostok, a port city on Russia’s Pacific Coast near Russia’s borders with China and North Korea, and must remain in the province of Primorsky Krai during their visits. Travelers using the e-visa program must arrive through the Vladivostok airport or the Vladivostok maritime checkpoint. More information is available on this Ministry of Foreign Affairs website.

BAL Analysis: The change will significantly reduce processing times for eligible travelers and could provide a business and trade boost to Vladivostok and surrounding areas.