On April 20, 2016, CFTC Chairman Timothy Massad and authorities for three Canadian provinces signed a March 2014 Memorandum of Understanding regarding (i) cooperation and coordination between the jurisdictions in respect of derivatives and securities markets and (ii) the exchange of information with respect to the supervision and oversight of regulated entities that operate on a cross-border basis in the United States and in Canada. Chairman Massad executed counterparts to the MOU along with the chairs of regulatory authorities of the provinces of New Brunswick, Saskatchewan and Nova Scotia. The MOU covers markets and organized trading platforms, central counterparties, trade repositories, and intermediaries, dealers and other market participants. Specifically, the MOU is intended to protect investors and customers, foster the integrity of financial markets and reduce systemic risk. The MOU previously only covered coordination between the CFTC and Alberta, British Columbia, Ontario and Quebec.

The CFTC press release is available at: http://www.cftc.gov/PressRoom/PressReleases/pr7364-16 and the Memorandum of Understanding is available at: http://www.cftc.gov/idc/groups/public/@internationalaffairs/documents/file/asc-bcsc-oscamfmou032514.pdf