The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced this week that it has designated Yemen for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for 18 months from September 3, 2015 to March 3, 2017 due to the continued armed conflict affecting the country. The designation will enable Yemeni nationals (and non-Yemeni nationals who last resided in Yemen) who have been physically and continuously present in the in the United States after September 3, 2015 to apply for TPS. Approval of TPS protects individuals from removal from the United States and allows individuals to apply for an employment authorization document (EAD). Eligible individuals will have to register for TPS by submitting an application during the registration period open now until March 1, 2016. Individuals can find more information, including the application and requirements for TPS at:

The DHS designates a country for TPS when conditions in the country are dangerous. This may be due to armed conflict, environmental disasters or other temporary events. TPS provides certain protections to nationals of the designated country such as protection from removal from the United States, eligibility for an EAD and travel authorization. TPS is not a path to US lawful permanent residence. The following countries are currently designated by the DHS for TPS: El Salvador, Guinea, Haiti, Honduras, Liberia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan and Syria.