On January 13, 2010, Premier Ed Stelmach, shuffled his Cabinet adding three new members of cabinet and assigning nine current ministers to new portfolios. The new cabinet will be sworn into office on January 15, 2010 at 10:00 am.

Of particular note, the Honourable Doug Horner remains Minister of Advanced Education and Technology and has been appointed Deputy Premier. The Honourable Lloyd Snelgrove has retained his position as President of the Treasury Board. The Honourable Ron Liepert, previously Minister of Health and Wellness, has been appointed Minister of Energy. The Honourable Mel Knight, has been appointed Minister of Sustainable Resource Development. The Honourable Rob Renner retains his position as Minister of Environment. The Honourable Gene Zwozdesky has been appointed Minister of Health and Wellness.

In addition to the new Cabinet, a new Chair of Government Caucus and Government Whip, Robin Campbell, was named, with Arno Doerksen serving as Deputy Whip.

The three new ministers are:

Solicitor General and Minister of Public Security – Hon. Frank Oberle  

Minister of Housing and Urban Affairs – Hon. Jonathan Denis  

Minister of Employment and Immigration – Hon. Thomas Lukaszuk  

Ministers with new portfolios include:  

Minister of Finance and Enterprise – Hon. Ted Morton  

Minister of International and Intergovernmental Relations – Hon. Iris Evans

Minister of Energy – Hon. Ron Liepert

Minister of Sustainable Resource Development – Hon. Mel Knight

Minister of Health and Wellness – Hon. Gene Zwozdesky

Minister of Children and Youth Services – Hon. Yvonne Fritz

Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development – Hon. Jack Hayden

Minister of Infrastructure – Hon. Ray Danyluk

Minister of Aboriginal Relations – Hon. Len Webber

Ministers retaining existing portfolios include:

Minister of Advanced Education and Technology – Hon. Doug Horner

Minister of Education – Hon. Dave Hancock

President of the Treasury Board – Hon. Lloyd Snelgrove

Minister of Transportation – Hon. Luke Ouellette

Minister of Justice and Attorney General – Hon. Alison Redford

Minister of Environment – Hon. Rob Renner

Minister of Seniors and Community Supports – Hon. Mary Anne Jablonski

Minister of Culture and Community Spirit – Hon. Lindsay Blackett

Minister of Service Alberta – Hon. Heather Klimchuk

Minister of Tourism, Parks and Recreation – Hon. Cindy Ady

Minister of Employment and Immigration – Hon. Hector Goudreau

A new session of the Legislature will open on February 4, 2010, with a Speech from the Throne, followed by a budget on February 9, 2010.