Reps. Gene Green (D-TX) and Mike Thompson (D-CA) introduced the Responsible Electronics Recycling Act of 2011 (H.R. 2284) that would bar exports of electronic waste to developing countries with the dual goals of fostering domestic recycling and preventing global dumping. A different version of the bill was introduced in September of 2010, but stalled. In the Senate, Sens. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), and Sherrod Brown (D-OH) introduced a companion bill the same day. The bill would add a provision to the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act creating a category of “restricted electronic waste” (DVD players, mobile phones, batteries, etc.) taking effect 24 months after the bill’s enactment. Although Twenty-five states have already passed electronic-waste recycling legislation, Rep. Green said the bill would create a “national regulatory framework” to address management of electronic waste.