California joins other states in allowing its undocumented immigrant population to apply for a special driver's license. Applicants must be able to prove their identity and their residency in the state of California. Similarly to other states that issue these driver's licenses, the text "not acceptable for official federal purposes" will appear on the face of the document. California expects approximately 1.5 million immigrants to apply for the new licenses. Currently, the following states permit undocumented immigrants to apply for a driver's license: Washington, Illinois, Vermont, Connecticut, Washington, DC, Maryland, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, Nevada as well as the commonwealth of Puerto Rico. Nebraska is the only state where youth granted administrative relief through President Obama's executive initiative for Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) are expressly prohibited from obtaining a driver's license. Illinois began issuing driver's licenses to undocumented immigrants in January 2013.