On 14 July 2017, the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) announced that it was inviting members of the public to comment on a review of Australia’s autonomous sanctions imposed on 63 individuals and 21 entities in response to Russia’s ongoing threat to the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine.

These individuals and entities have been designated for the purpose of targeted financial sanctions and these individuals have also been declared for the purpose of travel bans by the Minister for Foreign Affairs.

Designations and declarations made under the Autonomous Sanctions Regulations 2011 expire after three years, unless extended by the Minister. The designations and declarations under review were made by the Minister on 2 September 2014 and will expire on 2 September 2017 unless extended.

Details of the listings currently under review and how to make a submission.

Submissions will be accepted until 5pm on Wednesday 2 August 2017.

The full list of individuals and entities designated for targeted financial sanctions under Australian law, including for Australian autonomous sanctions in relation to Ukraine, is on the DFAT Consolidated List.