On July 18, the Senate Banking Committee approved Rep. Mel Watt (D-NC) to be the next Director of the FHFA, on a 12-10 party line vote. On a voice vote, the Committee also approved Michael Piwowar and Kara Stein as members of the Securities Exchange Commission, Jason Furman to serve as member and chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers, and Richard Metsger to sit on the National Credit Union Administration Board. Finally, again by voice vote, the Committee voted to extend the term of SEC Chair Mary Jo White until June 5, 2019. The nominations could come before a vote of the full Senate in the coming weeks.