On April 23, Senator Carl Levin (D-MI) introduced legislation (S. 2330 and S. 2334) to temporarily reduce the duty on hybrid electrical vehicle inverters and lithium ion electrical storage batteries.

The same day, Representative Ed Whitfield (R-KY) introduced legislation (H.R. 4471) to require analyses of the cumulative impacts of certain rules and actions of the Environmental Protection Agency that impact gasoline, diesel fuel, and natural gas prices, jobs, and the economy.  

Congressman Cory Gardner (R-CO) introduced legislation (H.R. 4480) April 24 to provide for the development of a plan to increase oil and gas exploration, development, and production under oil and gas leases of Federal lands under the jurisdiction of the Secretaries of Agriculture, Defense, Energy, and Interior in response to a drawdown of petroleum reserves from the Strategic Petroleum Reserve.  

Representative Denny Rehberg (R-MT) introduced legislation (H.R. 4606) to authorize the issuance of right-of-way permits for natural gas pipelines in Glacier National Park.  

Senators Mark Pryor (D-AR) and Roy Blunt (R-MO) introduced legislation (S. 2346) April 25 to amend the Farm Security and Rural Investment Act of 2002 to modify the definition of the term “biobased product.”  

Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT) introduced legislation (S. 2365) to promote the economic and energy security of the United States.  

Congressman Charles Rangel (D-NY) introduced legislation (H.R. 4621) to authorize negotiations with Brazil to eliminate tariffs and trade barriers to United States ethanol exports.  

Representative Jerry McNerney (D-CA) introduced legislation (H.R. 4622) to provide for the establishment of a grant program to assist state and local governments to install solar energy systems.

Congressman Joe Wilson (R-SC) introduced legislation (H.R. 4625) to amend the Nuclear Waste Policy Act of 1982 to require the president to certify that the Yucca Mountain site remains the designated site for the development of a repository for the disposal of high-level radioactive waste.

Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) introduced legislation (S. 2465) April 26 making appropriations for energy and water development and related agencies for fiscal year 2012.  

Representative Bill Flores (R-TX) introduced legislation (H.R. 4847) to prevent certain discriminatory taxation of natural gas pipeline property.  

Congressman Robert Aderholt (R-AL) introduced legislation (H.R. 4850) to allow for innovations and alternative technologies that meet or exceed desired energy efficiency goals.

On April 27, Representatives Ed Markey (D-MA), Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), and Henry Waxman (D-CA) introduced the IMPACT Act. The measure would extend the 1603 Treasury grant program for two years, extend the production tax credit and the investment tax credit for eight years, and allocate $5 billion to the 48C Advanced Energy Manufacturing Tax Credit program, and would pay for the extensions by removing tax provisions for oil and gas companies that are valued at $44 billion over the next ten years.