On 29 December 2018, the Russian government imposed import ban on a number of goods originating in or transported through/from Ukrainian territory. The ban is the retaliation for sanctions imposed earlier by Ukraine against various Russian nationals and companies. The Russian ban covers goods including wheat, sunflower oil, chocolate, bakery products, furniture, engines, cables, steam and gas turbines. A full list of the goods subject to the ban is available here (in Russian).

The import ban does not extend to goods transiting Russian territory, subject to compliance with the applicable Russian customs regulations.

For more information on this eAlert please contact authors of this publication.


Resolution of the Government of the Russian Federation dated 29 December 2018 No. 1716-83