This week, as expected, the New York City Council legislatively overrode the veto of Mayor Michael Bloomberg to enact the Earned Sick Time Act. In short, once the law goes into effect on April 1, 2014, all New York City employers with at least 20 employees will be required to provide each employee with five days of paid sick leave each year. This requirement will expand to employers with at least 15 employees on October 1, 2015, and even employers with fewer employees than either threshold will be required to provide five days of unpaid sick leave per year. In addition, the law includes anti-retaliation, carry-over, and recordkeeping provisions.

For a more detailed explanation of the Earned Sick Time Act, please see our prior entries on this topic here and here.