Seyfarth Synopsis: Country-specific travel restrictions will impact nationals of Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, Chad, North Korea, and Venezuela.

Immediately preceding the expiration of Executive Order 13780, President Trump signed a presidential proclamation maintaining, modifying, or easing country-specific travel restrictions for nationals of eight countries. According to the White House, following a worldwide review of information-sharing practices, the Secretary of Homeland Security, in consultation with interagency stakeholders, made her final recommendation to the President on foreign nationals who should be subject to travel restrictions due to deficiencies in identity management or information sharing, and/or risk factors in the designated countries.

As of 3:30 PM EDT on September 24th, the proclamation applies to nationals of the designated countries applying for a U.S. visa who lack a bona fide connection to a person or entity in the U.S., consistent with the entry restrictions under Executive Order 13780. Travel restrictions for all other nationals designated under this proclamation will take effect on October 18, 2017.

The country specific restrictions are as follows:

North Korea, Syria

Entry to the U.S. suspended for all immigrants and nonimmigrants


Entry to the U.S. suspended for all immigrants and nonimmigrants, except for travelers with valid student (F or M) or exchange visitor (J) visas


Entry to the U.S. suspended for immigrants; Nonimmigrants traveling to the U.S. subject to enhanced screening and vetting requirements

Chad, Libya, Yemen

Entry to the U.S. suspended for immigrants and nonimmigrants on business (B-1), tourist (B-2), and business/tourist (B-1/B-2) visas.


Entry to the U.S. suspended for certain government officials and their immediate family members as nonimmigrants on business (B-1), tourist (B-2), and business/tourist (B-1/B-2) visas

The U.S. lifted restrictions on Sudan. While no formal entry restrictions and limitations have been placed on nationals ofIraq, Iraqi nationals who seek to enter the U.S. will be subject to “additional scrutiny to determine if they pose risks to the national security or public safety of the U.S.”

Currently valid visas will not be revoked and suspension of entry does not apply to the following individuals:

  1. Any Lawful Permanent Resident (LPR), also known as a green card holder, of the U.S.;
  2. Any foreign national who is admitted to or paroled into the U.S. after the effective date of the proclamation;
  3. Any foreign national who possesses a valid travel document, other than a visa, that permits him or her to travel to the U.S. and seek entry or admission (for example, an advance parole document);
  4. Any dual national of a country designated under this proclamation who travels on a passport issued by a non-designated country;
  5. Any national traveling on a diplomatic or diplomatic-type visa, North Atlantic Treaty Organization visa, C-2 visa for travel to the United Nations, or G-1, G-2, G-3, or G-4 visa; and,
  6. Any national who has been granted asylum or refugee status in the U.S. or has been granted withholding of removal, advance parole, or protection under the Convention Against Torture.