A Resolution issued on September 24, 2015, by the National Minimum Wages Commission, unifies the minimum wage for geographic areas "A" and "B", which is set at $70.10 MXN. The change is effective October 1st, 2015.

This unification implies a 2.59% increase on the current minimum wage for geographic area "B", which comprises the States of Aguascalientes, Campeche, Coahuila de Zaragoza, Colima, Chiapas, Durango, Guanajuato, Hidalgo, Michoacán de Ocampo, Morelos, Nayarit, Oaxaca, Puebla, Querétaro, Quintana Roo, San Luis Potosí, Sinaloa, Tabasco, Tlaxcala, Yucatán, Zacatecas and those municipalities within the States of Chihuahua, Guerrero, Jalisco, México, Nuevo León, Sonora, Tamaulipas and Veracruz de Ignacio de la Llave, that are not part of geographic area "A".

The 2.59% salary increase is only mandatory for employees of geographic area "B" who earn the minimum wage. Nevertheless, it is possible that, for collective bargaining agreements applicable to facilities located at municipalities within geographic area "B", some labor unions could request a general increase in that percentage on the complete wage table, without any legal grounds. Likewise, this increase may impact labor union requests during collective bargaining next year.

Furthermore, is important to consider this increase in order to update, if applicable, the employees’ base quotation salary for the payment of social security contributions and give the proper notice to the Mexican Social Security Institute.