On 9 July, the EU issued Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No. 740/2014, removing eight individuals from, and adding one individual to, the EU’s Belarusian sanctions regime.  Council Regulation (EC) No. 765/2006 and Council Decision 2012/642/CFSP impose an arms embargo, travel ban and asset freeze on President Lukashenko, the Belarusian leadership, and officials and entities responsible for the violations of international electoral standards and international human rights law, as well as for the crackdown on civil society and democratic opposition.

The eight individuals removed from the list are: (1) Aliaksandr Mikhailavich Arkhipau ; (2) Valery Vasilievich Berastau; (3) Natallia Uladzimirauna Bushnaia; (4) Andrei Arkadzevich Mihun; (5) Hanna Valerieuna Samaliuk; (6) Mikalai Kanstantsinavich Svorab; (7) Piotr Uladzimiravich Tratsiak; and (8) Ihar Ryhoravich Varapaev.

Judge Vitaliy Nikolayevich Volkov was added to the list.

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No. 740/2014

Council Decision 2012/642/CFSP

Council Regulation (EC) No. 765/2006