President Uhuru Kenyatta has announced that Kenya will waive visa requirements for all African nationals with immediate effect. This change will include business visitors  travelling to Kenya.  In addition, East African Community nationals (Burundi, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda) will not require a work permit in Kenya.  The only immigration requirement for EAC nationals will be to provide evidence of their national identification upon entry.   

This measure is expected to promote intercontinental business travel within Africa and encourage other African nations to consider adopting a similar approach in 2018.