On October 4, 2016, U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) published in the Federal Register a general notice [CBP Dec. No. 16–16] announcing the expansion of the Global Entry program to nine additional airports: Fairbanks International Airport, Fairbanks, Alaska (FAI); Oakland International Airport, Oakland, California (OAK); Sacramento International Airport, Sacramento, California (SMF); Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport, San Jose, California (SJC); Lois Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, New Orleans, Louisiana (MSY); Kansas City International Airport, Kansas City, Missouri (MCI); Lambert-St. Louis International Airport, St. Louis, Missouri (STL); William P. Hobby International Airport, Houston, Texas (HOU); and Burlington International Airport, Burlington, Vermont (BTV).

Global Entry is a voluntary program that allows pre-approved participants dedicated U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) processing into the United States using Global Entry kiosks located at designated airports. CBP previously announced in the Federal Register thirty-nine designated Global Entry airports. Global Entry will be available at all nine additional airport locations on or before April 3, 2017. The exact starting date for each airport location will be announced on the CBP Global Entry Web site.