A reminder that the worker registration scheme, which is currently in place for A8 nationals, is due to close in April 2011. The scheme was set up in 2004 with the aim of monitoring migrants who came to work in the UK from countries which were new to the European Union. Under European Union law, the scheme cannot continue past April 2011.

A8 nationals are nationals from the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.